Waste less time on Facebook — follow Brilliant.

Abel Prize Winner: Pierre Deligne <late post>

Main post link -> http://www.abelprize.no/

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2013 to Pierre Deligne ,Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey, USA. The Abel Prize is a math equivalent of the Nobel prize, which is not awarded for significant achievements in math.

Note by Priyankar Kumar
4 years, 6 months ago

No vote yet
6 votes


Sort by:

Top Newest

You cannot say the Abel Prize being equivalent to Nobel Prize in Mathematics. Fields Medal is more like it.

Abhishek De - 4 years, 6 months ago

Log in to reply

I guess thats an open debate. The Abel prize is intended to be the 'equivalent' of the nobel prize while the Fields Medal is generally accepted to be the equivalent. Check this out:

There is a prize for mathematics that is equivalent to a Nobel Prize. I know what you’re thinking, “sure, the Fields Medal”. In fact though, the equivalent award is the prestigious Abel Prize. The Abel Prize is given out annually by the King of Norway with winners selected by a panel of five international mathematicians. It is named after Niels Henrik Abel, who was a distinguished Norwegian mathematician who lived in the early 19th century. The award includes a cash prize of close to $1 million. The Fields Medal, on the other hand, only includes a cash prize of about $15,000 and is awarded every four years and typically is not awarded for a single great achievement, but rather for a body of work. Further, the Fields Medal is only given to those under the age of 40 and 2-4 mathematicians each time win the award. Read more at http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2010/10/the-reason-there-is-no-nobel-prize-for-mathematics-had-nothing-to-do-with-any-wifemistress-of-alfred-nobel/#G7YuuFUu0YRjyejj.99

Priyankar Kumar - 4 years, 6 months ago

Log in to reply

Source- Wolfram Alpha The Abel prize is a new mathematics prize of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, dedicated to the memory of Niels Henrik Abel (1802-1829) on the occasion of the bicentenary of his birth. It is modeled after the Nobel Prize, and developed from a proposal by the mathematics department at the University of Oslo in fulfillment of a request formulated by the Norwegian mathematician Sophus Lie towards the end of the 19th century

Priyankar Kumar - 4 years, 6 months ago

Log in to reply


Problem Loading...

Note Loading...

Set Loading...