Waste less time on Facebook — follow Brilliant.

Divisors of 999...9999 in the "right way"

I studied something after making that crazy thing. This time I will use the Euler's theorem which states that, if two positive integers \(a\) and \(b\) are relatively prime to themselves, then:

\(a^{\phi(b)}\equiv1\bmod {b}\)

Where \(\phi(b)\) is the Euler's totient function, which returns the size of the set \(\mathbb{S}\), where \(\mathbb{S}=\{x\in\mathbb{N}|\text{gcd}(b, x)=1\text{ and }x<b\}\)

This is true for \(a=10\) and \(b\) is a number that it is not a multiple of 2, nor 5. Therefore:

\(b\mid 10^{\phi(b)}-1=999....999\)

I should alert anyone reading this that \(\phi(b)\) does not need to be the smallest positive integer that will make this work, let \(b=3\):

\(3|10^{\phi(3)}-1=10^2-1=99\)

But:

\(3|9=10^1-1\)

However, we can expand this concept to sequences of other numbers; Writing this in another way, calling \(\phi(b)=n\) because I already showed that a "\(n\)" exists under what conditions:

\(kb=10^n-1, k\in\mathbb{N}^*\)

I will multiply this by \(s=1+10^{n}+10^{2n}+...+10^{8n}=\sum^8_{k=0}10^{kn}\), notice that s is a multiple of 9; This can be proved this way:

\(\sum^8_{k=0}10^{kn}\equiv\sum^8_{k=0}(10-9)^{kn}\equiv\sum^8_{k=0}1^{kn}\equiv\sum^8_{k=0}1\equiv9\equiv1\bmod{9}\)

Therefore \(s=9t, t\in\mathbb{N}^*\)

Multiplying both the two equations and using telescopic sums:

\(skb=(10^n-1)\times\sum^8_{k=0}10^{kn}\)

\(skb=10^n\times\sum^8_{k=0}10^{kn}-\sum^8_{k=0}10^{kn}\)

\(skb=\sum^9_{k=1}10^{kn}-\sum^8_{k=0}10^{kn}\)

\(skb=\sum^9_{k=1}10^{kn}-\sum^8_{k=0}10^{kn}\)

\(skb=10^{9n}-1=999...999\)

Remeber that \(s=9t\)

\(9tkb=999...999\)

\(tkb=111...111\)

Since \(t, k \in\mathbb{N}^*\), \(tk\in\mathbb{N}^*\); Therefore \((\forall b\in\{x\in\mathbb{N})(2\nmid b \wedge 5\nmid b\}\exists f,n\in\mathbb{N}^* | fb=\sum^{n}_{k=0}10^k)\)